Japanese distillers made a fine showing last night at Whisky Magazine’s 6th annual World Whisky Awards.

Yamazaki scooped the coveted Best Single Malt Whisky award for its 25 Year Old expression, while Nikka won the Best Blended Whisky category with its Taketsuru 17 Year Old.

This marks the second year in a row Yamazaki’s has triumphed, with their sublime 1984 vintage taking home the best single malt prize in 2011.

While this second win surprised few, there were a few shock results. South Africa’s Three Ships Distillery secured the prize for Best Single Malt for the Rest of the World with its 5 Year Old, while Bowmore’s distillery – only Maltmen’s beat both Lagavulin 12 and Lagavulin 16 to Best Islay of The Year.

There are many, many sub divisions, but here are the main categories and winners:

Best BourbonEagle Rare 17 Years Old

Best Non Bourbon – Bernheim Original Straight Wheat Whiskey

Best RyeSazerac 18 Years Old

Best Canadian Blended Whisky – Wiser’s 18 Years Old

Best Irish Blended Whiskey -Kilbeggan 18 Years Old

Best New World Blended Whisky – Three Ships 5 Years Old

Best Blended Scotch Whisky – Black Bull 40 Years Old Deluxe Blend

Best Japanese Blended Whisky – Hibiki 17 Years Old

Best Blended Malt Scotch Whisky – Wemyss Vintage Malts The Hive

Best Non Scotch Blended Malt Whisky – Taketsuru Pure Malt 17 Years Old

Best Japanese Single Whisky – Yamazaki 25 Years Old

Best Japanese Single Whisky – Kavalan Solist Fino

Best Irish Single Malt – Bushmills 21 Years Old

Best Irish Pot Still Whiskey – Powers John’s Lane Release

Best Lowland Single Malt – Auchentoshan 1999

Best Campbeltown Single Malt – Springbank 18 Years Old

Best Highland Single Malt – Speyburn 25 Years Old

Best Island (non Islay) Single Malt – Highland Park 1971 Vintage

Best Islay Single Malt – Bowmore Maltmen’s Selection

Best Speyside Single Malt – Glenfiddich 40 Years Old